The Eagle Building 201 High Street, Sunderland.
Known as the Three Crowns in the latter part of the seventeenth century, it was also known as the Exchange Tavern and as the Royal Exchange. It now takes its name from the carved wooden eagle which once surmounted its pediment, and was a very prominent feature of the streetscape of the town.
The building ceased to be a public house in 1920 and sometime later it lost its eagle in an act of architectural vandalism that ranks with the taking of the Elgin marbles from the Parthenon (OK, ok, perhaps this is a bit too strong, Ed)
When the building was restored in 2002 it gained an equally impressive new eagle, carved by the renowned sculptor, Phil Townsend. The building once again adorns the streetscape of the little that is left of the once diverse and vibrant High Street of Sunderland.
[More about the Public House aspect.......]